Diskurs

Panel discussion #4 Entanglements of Social, Environmental and Climate Justice

19.05.2022
6-8 pm

GUESTS: Ayọ̀ Akínwándé, Rebecca Abena Kennedy-Asante (Black Earth Kollektiv), Fossil Free Culture NL, MODERATION: Ayasha Guerin

The event will be held online. Please register at: anmeldung@pratergalerie.de

In 2019, primary energy consumption per capita in Germany amounted to 43,703 kWh. According to Our World in Data, the average energy consumption across the African continent in turn amounted to only 4,220 kWh per capita, with South Africa (25,620 kWh) being the only country to remotely resemble the European average of 31,160 kWh per capita. These figures roughly correspond to the annual CO2 emissions, meaning that in 2019, a person in Germany produced around ten times the amount of climate-damaging greenhouse gases in comparison to a person living on the African continent. Yet the consequences of global warming are set to be most pronounced in equatorial, tropical and subtropical regions, where local temperatures are predicted to rise to unprecedented levels over the next thirty years. Climate change’s repercussions will hit those regions hardest that have historically contributed to climate change the least.

European companies have an ongoing presence on the African continent that began in the early days of European colonisation, and persisted despite the fight for decolonisation in the mid- to late 20th century. Many of these companies are still focused on (out)sourcing both human labour and raw materials to serve Western-dominated markets and energy-thirsty lifestyles. One key player is Shell, which discovered oil in the Niger Delta in 1956 following half a century of exploration. Formed in 1907 when Dutch and British petroleum-producing companies merged, Royal Dutch Shell had already become one of the world’s largest petroleum and natural gas companies, and was the sole owner of oil exploitation rights in the region. Shell is responsible for decades of severe oil spills, environmental devastation, and human rights abuses connected to oil extraction in the Niger Delta.

Departing from Ayọ̀ Akínwándé’s video performance Ogoni Cleanup, on view in the exhibition Fossil Experience, this panel will examine Shell’s responsibility in the Niger Delta. How do visual arts and activists address the local impacts of oil extraction, oil’s global supply chains, and the involvement of the oil industry in the sponsorship of culture? Can points of solidarity be formed between cultural workers in countries in the Global North and the Global South? Expanding the frame, the panel will discuss decolonial perspectives on climate and environmental justice. How to redress the traumata of centuries of colonial and corporate exploitation, which has reached genocidal and ecocidal proportions? Where should finances for climate adaptation plans and the repair of ongoing environmental devastation come from? Which forms of mobilisation are necessary in order to effectively push for reparations in post-colonial regions – including ecological reparations?

Ayọ̀ Akínwándé is an interdisciplinary artist, architect, curator, and writer based in Edinburgh. Working across lens-based media, installation, sound, and performance, he deals with topics related to politics and power structures. Power dynamics in democratic discourse, and the relationship between the “powerful” and the “powerless” as it manifests in the multi-faceted layers of more-than-human realities.

Fossil Free Culture (FFC) is a collective of artists, activists and researchers working at the intersection of art and climate justice activism. Founded by Teresa Borasino and Daniela Paes Leao, they have successfully worked to eradicate fossil fuel sponsorship in the Dutch cultural sector. FFC designs campaigns that consist of participatory performances, public interventions, films, graphics, objects, and subvertising editorial material challenging the ties between fossil fuel corporations and cultural institutions. Following their interventions, the Van Gogh Museum ended its sponsorship agreement with Shell in 2018, the Concertgebouw followed in 2020 and Nemo Science Museum in 2021.

Rebecca Abena Kennedy-Asante (Abeni) studied naturopathy, nature conservation and ecology in Berlin and Potsdam. In addition to Abenis botanical interests, Abeni is concerned with how the oppression of marginalised groups and the exploitation of ecosystems are linked. Abeni is part of Black Earth, a BIPoC Environmental & Climate Justice collective, which is centering anti-racist, queer, and ecosystem perspectives through its existence and actions.

Ayasha Guerin is an interdisciplinary artist, researcher and curator who lives between Berlin and Vancouver. She holds a PhD from New York University, American Studies, and is currently Assistant Professor of Black Diaspora Studies at the University of British Columbia in the Department of English. Ayasha Guerin is invested in art practices that are also forms of activism and believes a responsibility of the research profession is to make knowledge accessible through public actions and exhibitions.

This event is part of the project Fossil Experience by Prater Galerie. More information about the exhibition and program can be found here.

Fossil Experience is supported by Stiftung Kunstfonds, LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin, and the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, kindly supported by Förderband Kulturinitiative Berlin and Schankhalle Pfefferberg.

Media partner:

Diskurs

Diskussionsrunde #4 Verflechtungen von sozialer, ökologischer und Klimagerechtigkeit

19.05.2022
18:00-20:00 Uhr

GÄSTE: Ayọ̀ Akínwándé, Rebecca Abena Kennedy-Asante (Black Earth Kollektiv), Fossil Free Culture NL, MODERATION: Ayasha Guerin

Die Veranstaltung wird online stattfinden. Anmeldung bitte unter: anmeldung@pratergalerie.de

2019 betrug der durchschnittliche Primärenergieverbrauch in Deutschland 43 702 kWh pro Kopf. Auf dem afrikanischen Kontinent hingegen waren es laut Our World in Data nur 4220 kWh pro Kopf. Südafrika ist das einzige afrikanische Land, das mit einem Durchschnittsverbrauch von 25 620 kWh pro Kopf dem europäischen Durchschnitt von 31 160 kWh nahe kam. Diese Zahlen korrelieren in etwa mit den jährlichen CO2-Emissionen. Das bedeutet, dass eine Person in Deutschland im Jahr 2019 ungefähr zehnmal so viele klimaschädliche Treibhausgase verursacht hat wie eine Person in Afrika. Die Folgen des Klimawandels aber werden sich am stärksten in äquatorialen, tropischen und subtropischen Regionen bemerkbar machen, wo die Temperaturen in den kommenden 30 Jahren nie vorher dagewesene Höchststände erreichen werden. Ausgerechnet die Regionen, die historisch am wenigsten zum Erderhitzung beigetragen haben, werden am meisten unter ihren Auswirkungen leiden.

Die Präsenz europäischer Unternehmen in Afrika geht bis auf die Anfänge der europäischen Kolonisierung zurück und dauert ungeachtet der Dekolonisierungsprozesse in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts bis heute an. Dabei geht es auch und vor allen Dingen darum, Rohmaterialien für die westlichen Märkte und ihr energiehungrigen Lifestyles zu gewinnen. Ein Beispiel hierfür ist Shell, das 1956 nach einem halben Jahrhundert der Ölexploration im Nigerdelta fündig wurde. Das Unternehmen entstand 1907 aus einem Zusammenschluss von einem niederländischen und britischen Ölkonzern. Mitte des 20. Jahrhunderts war Royal Dutch Shell bereits eines der größten Mineralöl- und Erdgas-Unternehmen der Welt und darüber hinaus alleiniger Eigentümer der Ölförderrechte im Nigerdelta. Shell ist verantwortlich für Jahrzehnte der Ölverschmutzung, Umweltzerstörung, und Menschenrechtsverletzung im Zusammenhang mit der Ölförderung in der Region.

Ausgehend von Ayọ̀ Akínwándés Videoperformance Ogoni Cleanup, die in der Ausstellung Fossil Experience zu sehen ist, wird in der Diskussionsrunde Shells Verantwortlichkeit für die Folgen der Ölförderung im Nigerdelta diskutiert. Wie gehen Künstler:innen und Aktivist:innen mit den lokalen Auswirkungen der Erdölförderung sowie dem globalen Transfer von Kapital und Rohstoffen um? Was geschieht, wenn dieselben Unternehmen als Sponsoren im Bereich Kunst und Kultur auftreten? Welche Formen der Solidarität zwischen Kulturschaffenden im Globalen Norden und im Globalen Süden sind möglich? In der Diskussionsrunde geht es zugleich auch allgemeiner um dekoloniale Perspektiven auf Klima- und Umweltgerechtigkeit. Wie können die schwerwiegenden Traumata jahrhundertelanger, kolonialer und unternehmerischer wieder gut gemacht werden? Wie sollen Maßnahmen zur Anpassung an die Erderhitzung und die Reparatur andauernder Umweltverschmutzung finanziert werden? Welche Formen der Mobilisierung sind notwendig, um effektive Reparationszahlungen – inklusive ökologischer Entschädigungen – für postkoloniale Kontexte zu erwirken?

Ayọ̀ Akínwándé ist ein interdisziplinärer Künstler, Architekt, Kurator und Schriftsteller. Seine Werke behandeln politische Themen und Machtstrukturen und anhand von Medien wie Film und Fotografie, Installationen, Sounds und Performances. Dabei untersucht der Künstler die Machtverhältnisse in demokratischen Diskursen und die Beziehung zwischen den «Mächtigen» und den «Entmachteten», deren vielfältige Facetten sich nicht nur in der menschlichen Lebensrealität zeigen. Ayọ̀ Akínwándé lebt in Edinburgh.

Fossil Free Culture (FFC) ist ein Kollektiv von Künstler:innen, Aktivisten und Forscher, die an der Schnittstelle zwischen Kunst und Aktivismus für Klimagerechtigkeit arbeiten. Gegründet von Teresa Borasino und Daniela Paes Leao, haben sie sich erfolgreich für die Abschaffung des Sponsorings fossiler Brennstoffe im niederländischen Kultursektor eingesetzt. FFC entwirft Kampagnen, die aus partizipatorischen Performances, öffentlichen Interventionen, Filmen, Grafiken, Objekten und subversivem redaktionellem Material bestehen und die Verbindungen zwischen fossilen Brennstoffkonzernen und kulturellen Einrichtungen in Frage stellen. Nach ihren Interventionen beendete das Van Gogh Museum 2018 seinen Sponsoringvertrag mit Shell, das Concertgebouw folgte 2020 und das Nemo Science Museum 2021.

Rebecca Abena Kennedy-Asante (Abeni) studierte Naturheilkunde, Naturschutz und Ökologie in Berlin und Potsdam. Neben dem botanischen Interesse beschäftigt sich Abeni mit der Frage, wie die Unterdrückung marginalisierter Gruppen und die Ausbeutung von Ökosystemen zusammenhängen. Abeni ist Teil von Black Earth, einem BIPoC-Kollektiv für Umwelt- und Klimagerechtigkeit, das durch seine Existenz und Aktionen antirassistische, queere und ökologische Perspektiven in den Mittelpunkt stellt.

Ayasha Guerin ist eine interdisziplinäre Künstlerin, Wissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin. Sie hat einen PhD in American Studies der New York University und ist Juniorprofessorin für Black Diaspora Studies im Fachbereich Englisch an der University of British Columbia. Ayasha Guerin arbeitet mit Kunstformen, die gleichzeitig Formen des Aktivismus sind, und ist überzeugt, dass es zum Aufgabenbereich von Wissenschaftler:innen gehört, ihr Wissen in öffentlichen Interventionen und Ausstellungen mit anderen zu teilen. Ayasha Guerin lebt in Berlin und Vancouver.

Diese Veranstaltung findet im Rahmen des Projektes Fossile Erfahrung der Prater Galerie statt. Mehr Informationen zur Ausstellung und zum Begleitprogramm gibt es hier.

Fossile Erfahrung wird gefördert durch die Stiftung Kunstfonds, die LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin sowie mit Mitteln des Ausstellungsfonds für Kommunale Galerien und des Fonds für Ausstellungsvergütung für bildende Künstler:innen der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Förderband Kulturinitiative Berlin und der Schankhalle Pfefferberg.

Medienpartner: