screenshots of the rooms
© Prater Galerie

© Prater Galerie

Exhibition

POST NORMAL

30.06. – 31.12.2022

Enter exhibition

POST NORMAL is an exhibition of works by the five artists who have participated in the Prater Gallery’s digital residency programme. The Prater Gallery has invited artists to explore the challenges of a digital exhibition space, and to try out their own work in the Prater Digital rooms. Taking their own artistic works as a basis, the artists have discovered different ways of approaching the digital gallery space.

The exhibition title POST NORMAL is borrowed from the work by Sharon Paz. It refers to the concept of ‘postnormal times’ (PNT) developed by Ziauddin Sardar. In 2010, Sardar described the present day as an interim phase during which old orthodoxies would die out while new ones were still to be born – a phase during which very little would appear to make sense. The digital space permits the playful abolition of the boundaries imposed in physical space. After all, who can make objects float in mid-air in the physical space, as Juliane Tübke does in her piece? Or deconstruct architecture entirely, like Michelle-Marie Letelier in her work, in which the digital gallery space is continually and increasingly disrupted? Starting from our bodily experiences and the limitations imposed in the physical space, we must still learn to move anew in the digital space. As a municipal gallery, we are investigating ways to operate in the digital space. It is with the aim of exploring this together with artists and the public that we have set up the digital residencies whose results we present in this exhibition.

EXHIBITION OPENING HOURS AND PROGRAM

The exhibition is supervised Mon. – Thu. from 1 – 4 pm, if you have any problems or questions, call us at: 030 90295-3812

Prater Digital on the Road
Exhibition tour with VR goggles

08/09/2022 4 – 8 pm
as part of the summer festival at Ernst-Thälmann Park
WABE
Danziger Straße 101
10405 Berlin

08/09/2022 3 – 8 pm
located opposite of the Prater construction site at Puhlmannhof
Kastanienallee 97
10435 Berlin

Online Event

21/09. | 1/10.| 23/11. | 14/12. 6 – 7 pm each
Exhibition tour with Katharina v. Hagenow

02/11/2022 6 – 7 pm
Evening Conversation with Zsófia Puszt on her project Democracy and Me at Prater Digital.
Registration at: anmeldung@prater.digital

TEAM
Curator: Katharina von Hagenow
Coding and Design Mozilla Hubs galery room: Studio für unendliche Möglichkeiten (Gloria Schultz (Lead), Julian Kamphausen, Konstantin Andörfer, Vadim Smakthin)
Technical support and documentation of residencies: Abdulsalam Ajaj
Prater Galerie: Tereza Havlíková, Lena Prents und Julie Rüter

Veneta Androva

Veneta Androva born in Sofia, Bulgaria, graduated in Fine Arts from Weißensee Academy of Art Berlin in 2019. She also obtained a degree in History of Art and Philosophy from Humboldt University Berlin. Androva is the recipient of several scholarships, such as Elsa-Neumann-Scholarship, Artist Scholarship from Cusanuswerk, Mart Stam Scholarship and was nominated in 2020 with her work ‘From My Desert’ for the German Short Film Award. Recently she received Prix Ars Electronica 2021 – Award of Distinction for her film ‘AIVA’ in category ‘Computer Animation’, as well as Golden Horseman for Animated Film and LUCA Gender Diversity Award at Filmfest Dresden. Androva participated in numerous exhibitions at national and international venues, including DISPLAY (Berlin), CyberArt 2021 – Prix Ars Electronica Exhibition (Linz), Goethe-Institute Sofia (BG), Galeria Espacio Minimo (Madrid), Institute of Contemporary Art (Sofia), Monitoring Exhibition (Kassel DokFest).

D’Andrade

D’Andrade is a non-binary musician*, poet* and writer* whose conceptual approach is oriented towards Afro-futurism and decolonial theory, as well as the development of investigative works, new and counter-narratives through sound design, coding, archives, and interactions. D’Andrade co-curated the interdisciplinary festival “Jardim Suspenso” in Brazil and founded the solo project “Noise Vivarium” in 2020, based on open workshops with sound experiments, decoloniality, and nature. D’Andrades works have been exhibited at international venues as well as in Berlin, including the Sophiensälen, feldfünf, nGbK, Iwalwahaus, and the AKE ARTS & BOOK FESTIVAL in Nigeria.

Michelle-Marie Letelier

Born in Rancagua, Chile, Michelle-Marie Letelier currently lives and works in Berlin. She completed her Bachelor of Arts degree at the Universidad Católica de Chile in 2000. In Berlin, she was a participant in the Gloldrausch female artist project. Letelier’s work has been exhibited internationally, including: GropiusBau (Berlin); Kunstmuseum Bonn; Stanislavsky Elecrotheater (Moscow); Screen City Biennial 2019 (Stavanger, Norway); El Museo de Los Sures (New York); Kunsthalle 3,14 (Bergen); Museum of Contemporary Arts (Santiago). Her VR and video works have been shown at international festivals: The Arctic Arts Festival (Harstad); Videonale.18 (Bonn); VRHAM! Festival (Hamburg/Online); WE ARE OCEAN (Berlin and Marseille); East Asia Contemporary Art Space (Shanghai); 5th Mercosur Biennial (Porto Alegre) and X Video and Media Arts Biennial (Santiago).

Sharon Paz

Born in 1969 in Ramat Gan, Israel, the artist Sharon Paz now lives and works in Berlin. She graduated with an MFA in fine arts from Huter College in New York City. She has shown her work in exhibitions at the Kunstmuseum Wesenburg in Bremen, Smack Mellon in New York City, the Herzlyia Museum of Art and the Petach-Tikva Museum of Art in Israel, and at numerous festivals including Transmediale 11 in Berlin.

Juliane Tübke

studied art history in a global context at the Freie Universität Berlin before transferring to the Berlin University of the Arts. In 2018, she completed her studies with Prof. Monica Bonvicini there and was subsequently awarded the President’s Prize of the UdK Berlin. For her mostly site-specific projects, she has been invited to international residencies such as most recently the 2019 bangaloREsidency in India (Goethe-Institut). Tübke’s work has been shown in numerous exhibitions, including Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien (2020), Haus am Lützowplatz in Berlin (2019), and Pepper House/Kochi Biennale Foundation in India (2019). The artist lives and works in Berlin.

Logo Senatsverwaltung für Kunst und Kultur Berlin

The project is funded by the Bezirkskulturfonds and the Fonds für Ausstellungsvergütung für bildende Künstler:innen of the Senate Department for Culture and Europe.

Graphik Screenshots der Räume
© Prater Galerie

© Prater Galerie

Ausstellung

POST NORMAL

30.06. – 31.12.2022

Ausstellung betreten

Die Ausstellung POST NORMAL auf Prater Digital umfasst Arbeiten von den fünf Künstler:innen, die am digitalen Residenzprogramm der Prater Galerie teilgenommen haben. Die eingeladenen Künstler:innen haben sich den Herausforderungen eines digitalen Ausstellungsraumes gestellt und die eigene Arbeit in den Räumen von Prater Digital erprobt. Vor dem Hintergrund des eigenen künstlerischen Werks haben die Künstler:innen unterschiedliche Umgangsformen mit dem digitalen Galerieraum gefunden.

Der Ausstellungstitel POST NORMAL ist der Arbeit von Sharon Paz entliehen. Der Titel bezieht sich auf das Konzept der Postnormal times (PNT) von Ziauddin Sardar. Schon 2010 beschrieb dieser die Gegenwart als eine Zwischenphase, in der alte Orthodoxien sterben würden, neue erst noch geboren werden müssten und in der scheinbar nur sehr wenige Dinge Sinn ergeben. Die Grenzen, die uns der physische Raum setzt, lassen sich im digitalen spielend überwinden. Denn wer kann im physischen Raum Objekte schweben lassen, so wie Juliane Tübke in ihrer Arbeit, oder die Architektur ganz dekonstruieren, wie in der Arbeit von Michelle-Marie Letelier, in der sich der digitale Galerieraum immer weiter auflöst. Ausgehend von unseren körperlichen Erfahrungen und ihrer Grenzen im physischen Raum müssen wir im digitalen Raum immer noch lernen, uns zu bewegen. Als kommunale Galerie sind wir auf der Suche nach einer Form, wie wir den digitalen Raum bespielen können. Um dies gemeinsam mit Künstler:innen und Publikum auszuloten, haben wir die digitalen Residenzen durchgeführt, deren Ergebnisse in dieser Ausstellung zusammengeführt sind.

AUSSTELLUNGSZEITEN UND PROGRAMM

Die Ausstellung wird Mo.-Do. von 13:00-16:00 Uhr betreut, wenn sie Probleme oder Fragen haben, rufen Sie uns an: 030 90295-3812

Prater Digital on the Road
Ausstellungsbesichtigung mit VR-Brillen

04.09.2022, 16:00 – 20:00 Uhr
im Rahmen von Sommerfest am Ernst-Thälmann Park
WABE
Danziger Straße 101
10405 Berlin

08.09.2022, 15:00 – 20:00 Uhr
Aktuell: Aufgrund der Wettervorhersage wird die VR-Aktion an einen trockenen Ort verschoben. Die Prater Galerie wird POST NORMAL | VR am 08.09.2022 zu Gast bei MADAMEZORRO zeigen.

MADAMEZORRO
Kastanienallee 40
10119 Berlin

Online Veranstaltungen

21.09. | 12.10. | 23.11. | 14.12. jeweils 18:00-19:00 Uhr
Rundgang durch die Ausstellung mit Katharina v. Hagenow

02.11.2022 18:00-19:00 Uhr
Abendgesellschaft mit Zsófia Puszt zu ihrem Projekt Demokratie und Ich im Prater Digital.
Anmeldung unter: anmeldung@prater.digital

TEAM
Kuratorin: Katharina von Hagenow
Programmierung und Design Mozilla Hubs Galerieraum: Studio für unendliche Möglichkeiten (Gloria Schultz (Lead), Julian Kamphausen, Konstantin Andörfer, Vadim Smakthin)
Technischer Support und Dokumentation der Residenzen: Abdulsalam Ajaj
Prater Galerie: Tereza Havlíková, Julie Rüter und Lena Prents

Veneta Androva

Veneta Androva, geboren in Sofia, Bulgarien, erwarb 2014 einen Bachelor of Arts in Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin. 2019 schloss sie ihr Studium der Bildenden Kunst als Meisterschülerin an der Kunsthochschule Weißensee Berlin ab. Sie erhielt mehrerer Stipendien, darunter das Elsa-Neumann-Stipendium, das Künstlerstipendium des Cusanuswerks und das Mart-Stam-Stipendium. Im Jahr 2020 wurde sie mit ihrem Werk „From My Desert“ für den Deutschen Kurzfilmpreis nominiert. Sie erhielt den Prix Ars Electronica 2021-Award of Distinction für ihren Film „AIVA“ in der Kategorie Computeranimation, sowie den Goldenen Reiter für Animationsfilm und den LUCA Gender Diversity Award beim Filmfest Dresden. Androva nahm an zahlreichen Ausstellungen im In- und Ausland teil, unter anderem im DISPLAY (Berlin), CyberArt 2021 – Prix Ars Electronica Exhibition (Linz), Goethe-Institute Sofia (BG), Galeria Espacio Minimo (Madrid), Institute of Contemporary Art (Sofia), Monitoring Exhibition (Kasseler DokFest).

D’Andrade

D’Andrade ist nicht-binärer Musiker*, Dichter* und Autor*, dessen konzeptioneller Ansatz sich an Afro-Futurismus und dekolonialer Theorie orientiert. Der Fokus liegt auf der Entwicklung von investigativen Arbeiten, neuen Narrativen und Gegen-Erzählweisen Sounddesign, Codierung, Archive und Interaktionen sind D’Andrades Werkzeug. D’Andrade hat das interdisziplinären Festivals „Jardim Suspenso“ in Brasilien mit kuratiert und gründete 2020 das Soloprojekt „Noise Vivarium“, das auf offenen Workshops basiert, in welchen Klangexperimente, Dekolonialität und Natur eine große Rolle spielen. D’Andrades Arbeiten wurden international und in Berlin ausgestellt, unter anderem in den Sophiensälen, im feldfünf, im nGbK, im Iwalwahaus und beim AKE ARTS & BOOK FESTIVAL in Nigeria.

Michelle-Marie Letelier

In Rancagua, Chile geboren, lebt und arbeitet Michelle-Marie Letelier derzeit in Berlin. Ihren Bachelor of Arts schloss sie 2000 an der Universidat Católica de Chile ab. In Berlin war sie Teilnehmerin des Gloldrausch Künstlerinnenprojekts. Leteliers Arbeiten wurden international ausgestellt, unter anderem: GropiusBau (Berlin); Kunstmuseum Bonn; Stanislavsky Elecrotheater (Moscow); Screen City Biennial 2019 (Stavanger, Norwegen); El Museo de Los Sures (New York); Kunsthalle 3,14 (Bergen); Museum of Contemporary Arts (Santiago). Ihre VR-, sowie Videoarbeiten wurden auf internationalen Festivals gezeigt: The Arctic Arts Festival (Harstad); Videonale.18 (Bonn); VRHAM! Festival (Hamburg/Online); WE ARE OCEAN (Berlin und Marseille); East Asia Contemporary Art Space (Shanghai); 5. Mercosur Biennial (Porto Alegre) und X Video and Media Arts Biennial (Santiago).

Sharon Paz

Die 1969 in Ramat Gan, Israel, geborene Künstlerin Sharon Paz lebt und arbeitet heute in Berlin. Ihr Studium der Bildenden Kunst hat sie mit einem MFA am Huter College in New York City abgeschlossen. Ihre Arbeiten zeigte sie u.a. in Ausstellungen im Kunstmuseum Wesenburg in Bremen, bei Smack Mellon in New York City, dem Herzlyia Museum of Art und dem Petach-Tikva Museum of Art in Israel und auf zahlreichen Festivals, u. a. auf der Transmediale 11 in Berlin.

Juliane Tübke

studierte Kunstgeschichte im globalen Kontext an der Freien Universität Berlin, bevor sie an die Universität der Künste Berlin wechselte. 2018 schloss sie dort ihr Studium bei Prof. Monica Bonvicini ab und erhielt daraufhin den Preis des Präsidenten der UdK Berlin. Für ihre zumeist ortsspezifischen Projekte wurde sie wiederholt zu internationalen Aufenthaltsstipendien wie zuletzt der bangaloREsidency 2019 in Indien (Goethe-Institut) eingeladen. Tübkes Arbeiten waren in zahlreichen Ausstellungen zu sehen, u.a. im Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien (2020), im Haus am Lützowplatz in Berlin (2019) und im Pepper House/Kochi Biennale Foundation in Indien (2019). Die Künstlerin lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.

Logo Senatsverwaltung für Kunst und Kultur Berlin

Das Projekt wird aus Mitteln des Bezirkskulturfonds und des Fonds für Ausstellungsvergütung für bildende Künstler:innen der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa gefördert.