Diskurs

Panel discussion #3 Fossil Gas is Not Clean

12.05.2022
6-8 pm

online event, English language, registration: anmeldung@pratergalerie.de

GUESTS: Christopher Basaldú, Rachel O’Reilly, Esteban Servat, MODERATION: Sumugan Sivanesan (Black Earth Kollektiv)

Over the past decade, what is commonly referred to as ‘natural’ gas has come to be framed as a fuel to bridge the transition towards a fossil-free energy future. Because gas produces around half as much CO2 emissions than coal when burned, it is widely framed as a cleaner, alternative source of energy. However, this does not take into account its entire life cycle. ‘Natural’ gas is fossil gas. Its production releases methane into the atmosphere, a far more potent greenhouse gas than CO2. Methane emissions are caused by deliberate venting or flaring, as well as by leakage at all stages of production, storage, transport, and consumption. Liquified natural gas (LNG) involves an especially energy-intensive procedure, as the fossil fuel must be cooled to -160°C to reach its compressed and liquefied form. LNG can be shipped over long distances without pipelines–the tankers used for transport are in turn powered by gas or heavy oil.

Despite its de facto negative climate balance, fossil gas, like nuclear energy, was defined as sustainable by the European Commission at the beginning of 2022. This classification promotes investments in the expansion of climate-damaging fossil energy projects. In order to become less dependent on Russian gas supplies, Germany is now pushing ahead with the completion of import terminals in Wilhelmshaven, Brunsbüttel, and Stade to expand the supply of LNG in the mid-term. What places and lifeworlds lie on the other side of corporate fossil fuel supply chains?

In this panel discussion, common rhetoric around the topic of ‘natural’ gas – also with regard to the transition to fossil-free gases – will be critically examined with a particular focus on the production of unconventional gas, which forms an increasing share of total gas consumption. Hydraulic fracturing (fracking) is an energy-intensive technology that is extremely harmful to human and environmental health. It is banned in most parts of Europe. Still, the European economy benefits from the willingness of other nation-states and energy companies to exploit unconventional gas deposits while completely disregarding highly concerning consequences for land, water, and more-than-human communities in the vicinity. Unconventional gas extraction goes hand-in-hand with ongoing settler-colonial violence, as nation-states such as Australia and the US speculate on energy security concerns and potential export markets. In this panel, attention will be given to the expropriation and misuse of land and water, as corporate power and colonial continuities are confronted by sovereign Indigenous legal systems and calls for climate and environmental justice.

Christopher Basaldú, PhD, is Esto’k Gna (human being), a member of the Carrizo Comecrudo Tribe of Texas. Dr. Basaldú grew up in Brownsville and in Corpus Christi, Texas, before earning the degree of Bachelor of Arts in the Study of Religion from Harvard University. He then earned the degrees of Master of Arts in American Indian Studies and the Doctor of Philosophy in Anthropology, both from the University of Arizona. Dr. Basaldú currently lives in Brownsville and proudly stands with his tribe and community to protect sacred sites, sacred homelands, and sacred waters.

Rachel O’Reilly is an artist, writer, independent researcher, curator, and educator born in Gladstone, Queensland, Australia on the unceded lands of the Gooreng-Gooreng people. Her work explores relationships between art and situated cultural practices, media philosophy, and political economy. In the last decade she has focused increasingly on infrastructures of art and energy, questions of law and governance, and urgencies of planetary survivance. Her artistic research project The Gas Imaginary (2013-2019) used poetry, animation, installation, documentary filmmaking, and public lectures to explain the racial and ecocidal logic of ‘unconventional’ fossil gas fracking expansions in settler colonial space. O’Reilly teaches at the Dutch Art Institute and is a PhD researcher at the Centre for Research Architecture, Goldsmiths, London.

Esteban Servat is a scientist and exiled environmental activist from Argentina. After a decade of working in the Silicon Valley, he returned to Argentina to build a self-sustaining community. When the government brought fracking into the region, which is part of Vaca Muerta, Servat became an activist. As a co-creator of EcoLeaks and instigator of a massive anti fracking movement, Servat became the target of government attacks and was ultimately forced to leave the country. From Europe, he has continued his activism, building networks to connect environmental groups across continents and contexts. He has initiated and helped to build movements and networks such as Shale Must Fall and the Global Coastline Rebellion.

Sumugan Sivanesan is an anti-disciplinary artist, researcher, and writer. Often working collaboratively, his interests include political ontology, activist media, minority politics and more-than-human rights. He is currently developing fugitive radio as a platform for migrant, anticolonial and queer issues and music in Helsinki and beyond. In Berlin, he is part of Black Earth, a collective addressing the interacting issues of racism, gender, colonialism and climate justice. Sumugan earned a doctorate from the Transforming Cultures research centre at the University of Technology Sydney (2014) and was a post-doctoral researcher at the Institute for English and American Studies (Cultural Studies), University of Potsdam (2016) to research Urban Eco-politics of the Anthropocene.

This event is part of the project Fossil Experience by Prater Galerie. More information about the exhibition and program can be found here.

Fossil Experience is supported by Stiftung Kunstfonds, LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin, and the Senate Department for Culture and Europe, kindly supported by Förderband Kulturinitiative Berlin and Schankhalle Pfefferberg.

Media partner:

Diskurs

Diskussionsrunde #3 Fossiles Gas ist nicht nachhaltig

12.05.2022
18:00-20:00 Uhr

online Veranstaltung, in englischer Sprache, Registrierung: anmeldung@pratergalerie.de

GÄSTE: Christopher Basaldú, Rachel O’Reilly, Esteban Servat, MODERATION: Sumugan Sivanesan (Black Earth Kollektiv)

In den letzten zehn Jahren wurde Erdgas als Brückentechnologie auf dem Weg in eine fossilfreie Energiezukunft besprochen. Da Erdgas in der Verbrennung nur etwa halb so viel CO2-Emissionen verursacht wie Kohle, wird es oft als nachhaltigere Alternative dargestellt. Doch diese Perspektive lässt wichtige Aspekte im Materialzyklus bzw. in der Verarbeitungskette von Erdgas außer Acht. Erdgas ist ein fossiles Gas. Bei seiner Gewinnung entweicht Methan in die Atmosphäre, ein Treibhausgas, das weitaus klimaschädlicher ist als CO2. Methanemissionen entstehen beim kalkulierten Entlüften oder Abfackeln und durch undichte Stellen in allen Phasen der Produktion, Lagerung, im Transport und bei der Nutzung. Flüssigerdgas (LNG) verbraucht besonders viel Energie, da das fossile Gas auf −160°C abgekühlt werden muss, um seine flüssige und komprimierte Form zu erreichen. So kann es ohne Pipelines über weite Entfernungen transportiert werden; die dafür notwendigen Frachter werden wiederum mit Gas oder Schweröl betrieben.

Trotz seiner de facto negativen Klimabilanz erklärte die Europäische Kommission Erdgas, wie auch Atomenergie, Anfang 2022 für nachhaltig. Diese Taxonomie fördert Investitionen in den Ausbau klimaschädlicher, fossiler Energieinfrastruktur. Um unabhängiger von russischen Erdgaslieferungen zu werden, setzt Deutschland dabei vermehrt auf LNG und treibt den Bau von Importterminals in Wilhelmshaven, Brunsbüttel und Stade voran. Welche Orte und Lebensrealitäten befinden sich auf der anderen Seite dieser globalen Import-Export-Infrastruktur?

In dieser Diskussionsrunde werden gängige Argumente um das Thema Erdgas, auch im Hinblick auf eine Transformation hin zu fossilfreien Gasen, kritisch in den Blick genommen. Zugleich geht es darum, wie Erdgas und insbesondere unkonventionelles Erdgas, das einen zunehmenden Anteil des weltweiten Verbrauches ausmacht, gewonnen wird. Steigende Weltmarktpreise tragen dazu bei, dass energie- und kostenintensive Technologien wie das Hydraulic Fracturing (Fracking) ökonomisch rentabel werden. Fracking ist eine äußerst gefährliche und umweltschädliche Technologie für den Abbau von unkonventionellem Gas, die in weiten Teilen Europas zurecht verboten ist. Zugleich profitiert die europäische Wirtschaft aber von der Gewaltbereitschaft anderer Nationalstaaten, die in Zusammenarbeit mit Energiekonzernen ungeachtet der Folgen für lokale Ökosysteme unkonventionelles Gas an die Oberfläche bringen.

Wo Nationalstaaten wie Australien und die USA auf Energiesicherheit und potenzielle Exportmärkte spekulieren, geht die Förderung von unkonventionellem Gas mit anhaltender siedlungskolonialer Gewalt einher. In der Diskussionsrunde werden Landenteignungen und die Gefährdung von Wasser thematisiert in Situationen, in denen die Macht von Konzernen durch souveräne indigene Rechtssysteme und Forderungen nach Klima- und Umweltgerechtigkeit in Frage gestellt wird.

Christopher Basaldú, PhD, ist Esto’k Gna (Mensch), ein Mitglied des Carrizo Comecrudo Tribe of Texas. Dr. Basaldú wuchs in Brownsville und in Corpus Christi, Texas, auf, bevor er an der Harvard University den Bachelor of Arts in Religionswissenschaften erwarb. Er schloss ein Masterstudium in American Indian Studies ab und promovierte anschießend in Anthropologie, beides an der Universität von Arizona. Dr. Basaldú lebt derzeit in Brownsville und setzt sich an der Seite seines Stammes und seiner Community für den Schutz heiliger Stätten, heiligen Landes und heiliger Gewässer ein.

Rachel O’Reilly ist Künstlerin, Schriftstellerin, unabhängige Wissenschaftlerin und Kuratorin. Sie wurde in Gladstone in Queensland, Australien, auf dem rechtmäßigen Land der Gooreng-Gooreng geboren. Ihre künstlerischen Arbeiten erkunden die Beziehung von Kunst und lokalen Kulturpraktiken, Medienphilosophie und politischer Ökonomie. In den letzten zehn Jahren hat sie sich auf Infrastrukturen von Kunst und Energie, Fragen über Gesetz und Governance und die Dringlichkeit des Überlebens auf der Erde konzentriert. Ihr künstlerisches Recherche-Projekt The Gas Imaginary (2013–2019) verbindet Poesie, Animationen, Installationen, Dokumentarfilm und öffentliche Vorträge, um die rassistische und umweltzerstörerische Logik der Ausweitung von Fracking zur Gewinnung von unkonventionellem Gas im siedlerkolonialen Raum zu erörtern. O’Reilly unterrichtet am Dutch Art Institute und ist Doktorandin am Centre for Research Architecture der Goldsmiths University of London.

Esteban Servat ist ein exilierter, argentinischer Wissenschaftler und Umweltaktivist. Nachdem er zehn Jahre im Silicon Valley gearbeitet hatte, kehrte er nach Argentinien zurück, um dort eine Selbstversorger Community aufzubauen. Als die Regierung in dieser Gegend, die zur Vaca Muerta gehört, mit dem Fracking begann, wurde Servat zum Aktivisten. Als Mitbegründer von EcoLeaks und Initiator einer großen Anti-Fracking-Bewegung geriet Servat schnell ins Visier der Regierung und wurde schließlich dazu gezwungen, sein Land zu verlassen. In Europa setzt er seinen Aktivismus fort und trägt bei zur Vernetzung von Umweltgruppen über Kontinente und Kontexte hinweg. Im Zuge dessen hat er Bewegungen und Netzwerke wie Shale Must Fall und die Global Coastline Rebellion initiiert und mit aufgebaut.

Sumugan Sivanesan ist ein anti-disziplinärer Künstler, Wissenschaftler und Schriftsteller. Er arbeitet oft in Kollaborationen und interessiert sich für politische Ontologie, aktivistische Medien, Minderheitenpolitik und Mehr-als-Menschenrechte. Gegenwärtig baut er das Projekt fugitive radio auf, eine Plattform für migrantische, antikoloniale und queere Themen und Musik, in Helsinki und darüber hinaus. In Berlin ist er Mitglied des Black Earth Kollektivs, das zu den Verflechtungen von Rassismus, Gender, Kolonialismus und Klimagerechtigkeit arbeitet. Sivanesan promovierte am Forschungszentrum Transforming Cultures der University of Technology Sydney (2014) und war Postdoc am Institut für Anglistik und Amerikanistik (Kulturwissenschaften) der Universität Potsdam (2016), wo er zur urbanen Umweltpolitik im Anthropozän forschte.

Diese Veranstaltung findet im Rahmen des Projektes Fossile Erfahrung der Prater Galerie statt. Mehr Informationen zur Ausstellung und zum Begleitprogramm gibt es hier.

Fossile Erfahrung wird gefördert durch die Stiftung Kunstfonds, die LOTTO-Stiftung Berlin sowie mit Mitteln des Ausstellungsfonds für Kommunale Galerien und des Fonds für Ausstellungsvergütung für bildende Künstler:innen der Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa, mit freundlicher Unterstützung von Förderband Kulturinitiative Berlin und der Schankhalle Pfefferberg.

Medienpartner: