Learnings aus dem Projekt Prater Digital zum Aufbau einer digitalen Infrastruktur

How we have tried to build a cultural institution a digital infrastructure that is as secure as possible without ethically difficult software.

We know that many artists and cultural institutions take structural steps towards digitality under much more difficult conditions than we do. We know that many actors have fewer resources and less access to experience and knowledge than we have been lucky enough to have. If we now write down our learnings here, this is not an evaluation of the work of others who (have to) go other ways, but rather a measure for knowledge exchange that we hope will be understood in a spirit of solidarity.

Our goals:

– high accessibility for organizers, artists and audience (i.e. easy handling for users /audience, the staff the institution and the artists)

– Renouncement of commercial software (no stockholders: to make companies like Google, Facebook and Amazon richer with our work and the produced art)

– Safe under data protection law

– Store application knowledge in many institutions (i.e. help all users to act self-determined in the digital infrastructure and promote the solidary exchange with colleagues)

Where is the homepage of the institution hosted, i.e. on which server are the homepage and the connected e-mails stored?

Here two criteria were important to us:

Server in the BRD
They are then subject to German law, which is transparent and protects the data comparatively strictly. Even at other EU server locations such as France, there are already far-reaching non-transparent access rights of the security authorities.

Consistent renouncement of Google Analytics
Almost all providers use Google Analytics to analyze traffic on their sites, but at the same time they send this data to Google, which uses it to optimize user profiles so that ads can be sold better.

We have found a single provider that meets both criteria: www.jpberlin.de
(Surely there are more, but we only had a small-time window for research and of course there is also the possibility to buy your very own server and host it yourself).

Which social media channels do we want to use?
Facebook with its platforms Instagram and Whats-App have been attracting attention for many years through massive human rights violations and worse. The management has consistently missed the numerous opportunities to make business conduct more decent, at least to some extent.

That is why we do not use these platforms, but we are aware that for many actors* and for people in other countries they are often a central access to the public and cultural participation.
Most social media platforms use small hidden programs (pixels or targeting cookies) that simply land on the page, e.g. when this f is taken as a shortcut to Facebook posting on the page. These programs then send all traffic on the page to the servers of Facebook etc.

But we are not naive enough to assume that a cultural institution without social media can fulfill the criterion of accessibility, which is why we use Twitter as the lesser evil, but also strictly separated from the site, as an autonomously played account without automated cross-connections.

What do we stream our events in digital space through?
We wanted to avoid YouTube (Google) and Twitch (Amazon) here, and with Vimeo we have chosen a good compromise between data security, affordability and ease of use.

How do we build digital spaces for meetings, performances and exhibitions?
There aren’t many providers:inside: we were looking for a way that was as open source as possible and accessible from most devices. The people who produce art in it should have the opportunity to actually own the space with the art and not – as often hidden in the terms and conditions – unconsciously assign the exploitation rights.
We decided to use the open source software Mozilla Hubs, which has graphically less sophisticated animation possibilities than software that uses special game engines.
Unfortunately, Mozilla currently no longer has a team to oversee the further development of the software, but there are several solidary communities that provide support.

On which cloud servers can these rooms be hosted?
Unfortunately, we had to make concessions to ethical standards here: we could not find a reliable alternative to the Amazon Web Services cloud servers in Ireland – within the scope of our possibilities. We are still looking for alternatives.

Further points:

The Berlin-based initiative PlatzDa! has accompanied us in the development and we continue to exchange ideas to avoid exclusion. This exchange has helped us a lot. And we know that we are only at the beginning of a truly accessible digital offering.

For videoconferencing, we decided to use a variant of the open source software Big Blue Button, which is offered by the Berlin-based company Ecosero. It offers the functionality of web seminar and video conferencing platforms, runs stable and is data secure and ecologically sustainable.

Internally, we have consistently avoided Google offers. In addition to the well-known data protection problems, graphic elements (quickly copied and pasted) and Google fonts are factual targeting cookies, which then send the website users’ data to Google.

Beteiligte

Julian Kamphausen

K√ľnstlerische Leitung Prater Digital

Learnings aus dem Projekt Prater Digital zum Aufbau einer digitalen Infrastruktur

Wie wir versucht haben einer Kulturinstitution eine möglichst datensichere digitale Infrastruktur ohne ethisch schwierige Softwares zu bauen.

Wir wissen, dass viele Künstler:innen und Kulturinstitutionen unter wesentlich schwierigeren Bedingungen als wir strukturelle Schritte in die Digitalität gehen. Wir wissen, dass viele Akteur:innen weniger Mittel und weniger Zugänge zu Erfahrungen und Wissen haben, als wir das Glück hatten zu haben. Wenn wir jetzt unsere Learnings hier aufschreiben, ist das keine Wertung der Arbeit anderer, die andere Wege gehen (müssen), sondern eine hoffentlich solidarisch verstandene Maßnahme zum Wissensaustausch.

Unsere Ziele sind:

 

– hohe Zugänglichkeit für Veranstalter:innen, Künstler:innen und Publikum (also einfache Bedienung für Nutzer:innen/Publikum, die Mitarbeiter:innen der Institution und die Künstler:innen)

– Verzicht auf kommerzielle Software (keine Aktienbesitzer:innen von Firmen wie Google, Facebook und Amazon mit unserer Arbeit und der produzierten Kunst reicher machen)

– Datenschutzrechtlich unbedenklich

– Anwendungswissen in vielen Institutionen speichern (also allen Nutzer:innen helfen selbstbestimmt in der digitalen Infrastruktur zu agieren und den solidarischen Austausch mit Kolleg:innen fördern)

Wo wird die Homepage der Institution gehostet, also auf welchem Server sind die Homepage und die angeschlossenen E-Mails gespeichert?

Hier waren uns zwei Kriterien wichtig…

Server in der BRD
Sie unterliegen dann deutschem Recht, das transparent ist und vergleichsweise streng die Daten schützt. Schon bei anderen EU Servernstandorten wie Frankreich gibt es weitreichende intransparente Zugriffsrechte der Sicherheitsbehörden.

Konsequenter Verzicht auf Google Analytics.
Fast alle Anbieter nutzen Google Analytics, um den Verkehr auf den Seiten zu analysieren, senden diese Daten aber auch gleichzeitig an Google, das diese nutzt, um Nutzer:innenprofile zu optimieren, damit Anzeigen besser verkauft werden können.

Wir haben einen einzigen Anbieter gefunden, der beide Kriterien erfüllt: http://www.jpberlin.de
(Es gibt bestimmt noch mehr, wir hatten aber nur ein kleines Zeitfenster für die Recherche und natürlich gibt es auch die Möglichkeit einen ganz eigenen Server zu kaufen und selber zu hosten.)

Welche Social-Media-Kanäle wollen wir nutzen?
Facebook mit seinen Plattformen Instagram und Whats-App fallen seit vielen Jahre durch massive Menschenrechtsverletzungen und Schlimmeres auf. Die zahlreichen Möglichkeiten das Geschäftsgebaren wenigstens ansatzweise anständiger zu gestalten, hat die Geschäftsleitung immer wieder konsequent versäumt.

Deswegen nutzen wir diese Plattformen nicht, sind uns aber bewusst, dass sie für viele Akteur*innen und für Menschen in anderen Ländern häufig ein zentraler Zugang zu Öffentlichkeit und kultureller Teilhabe sind.
Die meisten Social Media Plattformen verwenden kleine versteckte Programme (Pixel oder Targeting Cookies, die einfach so auf der Seite landen, wenn z.B. diese f als shortcut zum Facebookposting auf die Seite genommen wird. Diese Programm senden dann den gesamten Verkehr auf der Seite an die Server von Facebook etc.

Wir sind aber nicht so naiv anzunehmen, dass eine Kulturinstitution ohne Social Media das Kriterium der Zugänglichkeit erfüllen kann, deswegen nutzen wir Twitter als das kleinere Übel, allerdings auch strikt von der Seite getrennt, als autonom bespieltes Account ohne automatisierte Querverbindungen.

Worüber streamen wir unsere Veranstaltungen im digitalen Raum?
YouTube (Google) und Twitch (Amazon) wollten wir hier vermeiden, und haben mit Vimeo einen guten Kompromiss zwischen datensicher, bezahlbar und einfach zu benutzen gewählt.

Wie bauen wir digitale Räume der Versammlung, der Performance und der Ausstellungen?
Es gibt noch nicht viele Anbieter:innen: wir haben nach einer Möglichkeit gesucht, die möglichst open source ist und von den meisten Endgeräten zu betreten ist. Die Menschen, die darin Kunst produzieren, sollten die Möglichkeit haben den Raum mit der Kunst tatsächlich zu besitzen und nicht – wie oft in den AGBs versteckt – die Verwertungsrechte unbewusst abtreten.
Wir haben uns für die open Source Software Mozilla Hubs entschieden, die grafisch nicht so anspruchsvolle Animationsmöglichkeiten hat, wie Softwares, die besondere Game Engines nutzen.
Mozilla hat leider zur Zeit kein Team mehr, das die Weiterentwicklung der Software betreut, dafür gibt es aber mehrere solidarische Communities, die Support bieten.

In welchen Cloudservern können diese Räume gehostet werden?
Hier mussten wir leider Abstriche an den ethische Standards machen: wir konnten keine – im Rahmen unserer Möglichkeiten – zuverlässig funktionierende Alternative zu den Amazon Web Services Cloudservern in Irland finden. Wir suchen weiter nach Alternativen.

Weitere Punkte:

In der Entwicklung hat uns die Berliner Initiative PlatzDa! Begleitet und wir stehen weiter im Austausch zum Ausschlüsse zu vermeiden. Dieser Austausch hat uns sehr geholfen. Und wir wissen, dass wir erst am Anfang eines wirklich zugänglichen digitalen Angebots stehen.

Für Videokonferenzen haben wir uns für eine Variante der Open Source Software Big Blue Button entschieden, die von der Berliner Firma Ecosero angeboten wird. Es bietet die Funktionalität von Webseminar- und Videokonferenzplattformen, läuft stabil und ist datensicher und ökologisch nachhaltig.

Wir haben intern konsequent auf Google Angebote verzichtet. Neben den bekannten Datenschutzproblemen sind auch (schnell kopierte und eingefügte) grafische Elemente und Google Schriften faktische Targeting Cookies, die dann die Daten der Webseitennutzer:innen an Google schicken.

 

 

Beteiligte

Julian Kamphausen

Künstlerische Leitung Prater Digital