© Sharon Paz

© Sharon Paz

Performance

Hannah and Martin/Post Normal

29.09.2021
6 p.m.

In her video works and installation, Paz constructs non-linear narratives by fragmenting and re-layering her visual material, thereby alternating between reality and fiction. Her current work “distance” (2021) is a video installation that deals with loneliness and isolation. Inspired by Hannah Arendt’s essay “The Origins of Totalitarianism,” in which she describes loneliness as the basis for terror and tyrannical regimes that use isolation as a means of oppression. In the video, friends of the artist from around the world, embodied by avatars, talk about their experience of loneliness.

As part of the residency, Sharon Paz is planning a digital performance. Based on an imaginative conversation, she will illuminate different aspects of the complex relationship between Hannah Arendt and Martin Heidegger. The performance will construct an imaginative journey between truth and fiction. Paz experiments with formats of multi-layered thinking and manipulates history with contemporary images.

RSVP via E-Mail

Sharon Paz

Born in 1969 in Ramat Gan, Israel, the artist Sharon Paz now lives and works in Berlin. She graduated with an MFA in fine arts from Huter College in New York City. She has shown her work in exhibitions at the Kunstmuseum Wesenburg in Bremen, Smack Mellon in New York City, the Herzlyia Museum of Art and the Petach-Tikva Museum of Art in Israel, and at numerous festivals including Transmediale 11 in Berlin.

© Sharon Paz

© Sharon Paz

Performance

Hannah and Martin/Post Normal

29.09.2021
18:00 Uhr

In ihren Videoarbeiten und Installation konstruiert Paz nicht-lineare Narrative, in dem sie ihr Bildmaterial fragmentiert, neu schichtet und dadurch zwischen Realität und Fiktion changiert. Ihre aktuelle Arbeit „distance“ (2021) ist eine Videoinstallation, die sich mit Einsamkeit und Isolation beschäftigt. Sharon Paz ließ sich von Hannah Arendts Essay „The Origins of Totalitarianism“ inspirieren, in dem die Philosophin die Einsamkeit als Grundlage für Terror bezeichnet. Tyrannische Regimes, so Hannah Arendt, setzen die Isolation als Mittel zur Unterdrückung ein. In dem Video sprechen Freunde der Künstlerin aus aller Welt, verkörpert durch Avatare, über ihre Erfahrung von Einsamkeit.

Im Rahmen der Residenz plant Sharon Paz eine digitale Performance. Basierend auf einer imaginativen Konversation, wird sie verschiedene Aspekte der komplexen Beziehung zwischen Hannah Arendt und Martin Heidegger beleuchten. In der Performance wird eine imaginative Reise zwischen Wahrheit und Fiktion konstruiert. Paz experimentiert mit Formaten des vielschichtigen Denkens und manipuliert die Geschichte mit zeitgenössischen Bildern.

RSVP via E-Mail

Sharon Paz

Die 1969 in Ramat Gan, Israel, geborene Künstlerin Sharon Paz lebt und arbeitet heute in Berlin. Ihr Studium der Bildenden Kunst hat sie mit einem MFA am Huter College in New York City abgeschlossen. Ihre Arbeiten zeigte sie u.a. in Ausstellungen im Kunstmuseum Wesenburg in Bremen, bei Smack Mellon in New York City, dem Herzlyia Museum of Art und dem Petach-Tikva Museum of Art in Israel und auf zahlreichen Festivals, u. a. auf der Transmediale 11 in Berlin.