© Ines Schulze

© Ines Schulze

Evening Conversation with Tina Balla and Lena Prents

17.03.2021
6pm–7pm

The evening conversations are casual discussion groups that take place regularly every 14 days at Prater Digital. Members of the advisory board for the future of the Prater and people from the gallery’s surroundings meet colleagues and friends in the digital spaces with whom no physical discussions are possible at the moment. They exchange views not only on the future of the Prater, but also on current challenges and cultural policy issues, or on the exhibition program of the Prater Galerie.

To open the event, Tina Balla (Head of the Department of Art and Culture of the Pankow District Office) and Lena Prents (Director of the Prater Gallery) will speak about their visions and strategies for the Prater Gallery.

The conversation will be held in German. You are welcome to ask questions in English.

Tina Balla

studied cultural studies in Leipzig, Hildesheim, Catania. Since 2018, she has headed the Department of Arts and Culture of the Pankow district office. Previously, she was the managing director of the State Association of Cultural Education for Children and Youth and an advisor for youth art schools in Brandenburg. She has also worked for the Goethe-Institut and the Institute for Foreign Cultural Relations (IfA), as deputy director of the cultural office of the city of Constance, for the European Theater Prize, the Leipzig Opera, the Berliner Zeitung, 3Sat, signandsight.com, and the International Literature Festival Berlin.

Lena Prents

born in Minsk, Belarus. Studied German philology in Minsk and art history and German studies at the Free University of Berlin. Worked as a cultural manager, curator and author in the international cultural field, most recently in the Visual Arts Department of the Goethe-Institut e.V. The focus of her work as a curator and mediator: contemporary art and exhibition practice intertwined with socio-political discourses, art and culture in Eastern Europe during state socialism, architectural history. Since December 2020 director of the Prater Gallery and the Visual Arts Department of the Pankow District Office.

© Ines Schulze

© Ines Schulze

Abendgesellschaft mit Tina Balla und Lena Prents

17.03.2021
18:00–19:00 Uhr

Die Abendgesellschaften sind lockere Gesprächsrunden, die regelmäßig alle 14 Tage im Prater Digital stattfinden. Mitglieder des Beirats zur Zukunft des Praters und Menschen aus dem Umfeld der Galerie treffen in den digitalen Räumen Kolleg:innen und Freund:innen, mit denen zur Zeit keine physischen Begegnungen möglich sind. Sie tauschen sich nicht nur zur Zukunft des Praters, sondern auch zu kulturpolitischen Themen, dem Ausstellungsprogramm der Prater Galerie und zu aktuellen Herausforderungen aus.

Zum Auftakt sprechen Tina Balla (Leiterin des Fachbereichs Kunst und Kultur des Bezirksamts Pankow) und Lena Prents (Leiterin der Prater Galerie) zu ihren Visionen und Strategien für die Prater Galerie.

Tina Balla

studierte Kulturwissenschaften in Leipzig, Hildesheim, Catania. Seit 2018 leitet sie den Fachbereich Kunst und Kultur des Bezirksamts Pankow. Zuvor war sie Geschäftsführerin der Landesvereinigung der Kulturellen Kinder- und Jugendbildung und Referentin für Jugendkunstschulen in Brandenburg. Engagiert war sie darüber hinaus für das Goethe-Institut und das Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (IfA), im Kulturamt der Stadt Konstanz als stellvertretende Leiterin, für den Europäischen Theaterpreis, die Oper Leipzig, die Berliner Zeitung, 3Sat, signandsight.com oder das Internationale Literaturfestival Berlin.

Lena Prents

geboren in Minsk, Belarus. Studium der deutschen Philologie in Minsk und der Kunstgeschichte und Germanistik an der Freien Universität Berlin. Tätigkeit als Kulturmanagerin, Kuratorin und Autorin im internationalen Kulturbereich, zuletzt im Bereich Bildende Kunst des Goethe-Instituts e.V. Schwerpunkte ihrer Tätigkeit als Kuratorin und Vermittlerin: zeitgenössische Kunst- und Ausstellungspraxis in Verschränkung mit gesellschaftspolitischen Diskursen, Kunst und Kultur im östlichen Europa während des Staatssozialismus, Architekturgeschichte. Seit Dezember 2020 Leiterin der Prater Galerie und des Bereichs Bildende Kunst des Bezirksamts Pankow.