Exhibition

Tracing the Geometry of Cyberwar

08.09. – 31.12.2023

Virtual exhibition and research space with works and texts by Jessikka Aro, Sarah Buser, fantastic little splash, Judith Hanke, Olga Krykun, Svitlana Matviyenko, Tactical Tech, Susan Sontag, and further research material by Center for Spatial Technologies.

Virtual exhibition and research space with works and texts by Jessikka Aro, Sarah Buser, fantastic little splash, Judith Hanke, Olga Krykun, Svitlana Matviyenko, Tactical Tech, Susan Sontag, and others.

In its current project, Prater Digital deals with the role played by the Internet and digital technologies in Russia’s ongoing war of aggression against Ukraine. In this context, new strategies of warfare, which are increasingly based on automated and cybernetic means, are being established. Contrary to what we may think, modern cyber warfare does not take place in virtual space alone, but develops in places where digital communication and military actions merge.

The “Tracing the Geometry of Cyberwar” exhibition focuses primarily on the dissemination of images and data in the cybernetic logics of the Internet. In this highly commercialised online space, images and news from the war mix with advertising, memes and other content. The monitoring and analysis of social networks and the targeted dissemination of images and disinformation on the Internet serve to control and enforce narratives about the war and the events of the war among the public. At the same time, however, images are also of great importance for the strategic planning of operations and their investigation.

Inspired by the research of scholar Svitlana Matviyenko, the artistic positions and discursive texts in the exhibition move along three paths (vectors) of cyberwarfare – targeting people and infrastructure in occupied Ukraine, focusing on Ukraine’s supporter countries, and including Russia itself.

EXHIBITION OPENING HOURS AND PROGRAM

The exhibition is supervised Mon. – Thu. 10 – 4 pm, if you have any problems or questions regarding the exhibition, call us at 030 90295-3812 or write us at info@pratergalerie.de.

TEAM
Curator: Tereza Havlíková
Concept, design, and programming Mozilla Hub gallery space: Sarah Buser and Judith Hanke
Prater Galerie: Katharina von Hagenow, Lena Prents and Julie Rüter
Graphic design: Judith Weber
Copy editing: Carola Köhler
Sound recording: studio brod
Narrator: Lucy Jones

Jessikka Aro

Jessikka Aro, Putins Armee der Trolle. Der Informationskrieg des Kreml gegen die demokratische Welt, Goldmann Verlag, part of the Penguin Random House Verlagsgruppe GmbH, Munich 2022. Translation into German according to the US edition “Putinʼs Trolls. On the Frontlines of Russiaʼs Information War Against the World”, Ig Publishing, New York 2022. The German edition was published in agreement with Jessikka Aro and Elina Ahlback Literary Agency (Helsinki). The original Finnish edition was published in 2019 by Johnny Kniga Publishers under the title “Putinin trollit Tositarinoita Venäjän infosodan rintamilta”.

Jessikka Aro, Putins Armee der Trolle. Der Informationskrieg des Kreml gegen die demokratische Welt, Goldmann Verlag, part of the Penguin Random House Verlagsgruppe GmbH, Munich 2022. Translation into German according to the US edition “Putinʼs Trolls. On the Frontlines of Russiaʼs Information War Against the World”, Ig Publishing, New York 2022. The German edition was published in agreement with Jessikka Aro and Elina Ahlback Literary Agency (Helsinki). The original Finnish edition was published in 2019 by Johnny Kniga Publishers under the title “Putinin trollit Tositarinoita Venäjän infosodan rintamilta”.

Center for Spatial Technologies

The Center for Spatial Technologies is a group of architects, researchers, and educators, predominantly based in Kyiv, Ukraine, who develop solutions for spatial problems; hacking economic, technological, and political infrastructures to shape the future city. Currently, the team works on projects analyzing civilian damage caused by the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

fantastic little splash

The fantastic little splash collective was founded in 2016 by journalist/artist Lera Malchenko and artist/director Oleksandr Hants. Its works revolve around utopias and dystopias, collective imagination, and its projections and uncertainties. They combine these topics with approaches from image and media studies. Projects by fantastic little splash have been exhibited at transmediale, post.MoMA, Plokta TV, Ars Electronica, Liste Art Fair Basel, Construction festival VI x CYNETART, KISFF, and Docudays, among others. The collective participated in the transmedial x Pro Helvetia Residency 2022.

Olga Krykun

Olga Krykun studied at the supermedia studio and at the studio for painting at the UMPRUM art college in Prague. During her studies, she completed internships at the National Taiwan University of Arts, the University of Arts, Crafts and Design in Stockholm, and the T.E.I. in Athens. Her work “Remembering the Old World” has been nominated for the StartPoint prize. In 2022 she received the Jindřich Chalupecký Prize. Olga Krykun works mainly with video, painting, and objects, which she assembles into complex installations. Olga Krykun creates her own contemporary mythology by combining fictional stories with cultural and social symbols of the present day. In doing so, she deals with topics such as identity and the fragmentation of society, as well as with internal tensions and fears.

Svitlana Matviyenko

Svitlana Matviyenko is an assistant professor of critical media analysis at the School of Communication at Simon Fraser University in Canada. Her research and teaching activities focus on cyber warfare, digital militarism, Soviet and post-Soviet technopolitics, nuclear colonialism, and the arming of the energy infrastructure during the Russia-Ukraine war. She is co-author of “Cyberwar and Revolution: Digital Subterfuge in Global Capitalism”, winner of the 2019 book prize in the Science Technology and Art in International Relations category of the International Studies Association, and of the Gertrude J. Robinson Book Prize of the Canadian Communication Association 2020. Her text “Terrorumgevungen” was recently published in German in the anthology “Aus dem Nebel des Krieg. Die Gegenwart der Ukraine” (Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin 2023).

Susan Sontag

Susan Sontag (1933 – 2004) was a writer, critic, filmmaker, playwright and professor. She wrote numerous book-length essays, novels, and plays. Some of her most famous works deal with AIDS and disease, photography, aesthetics, and morality. During the Vietnam War, she traveled to Hanoi in 1968, and during the Yugoslav War in 1993, she left for Bosnia and lived in Sarajevo for three years during the siege of the city. Her work has been recognized by numerous awards and scholarships, including the Rockefeller Foundation Grant, the Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship, and the Jerusalem Prize for the Freedom of the Individual in Society.

Tactical Tech

The Tactical Technology Collective, or Tactical Tech for short, brings together artists, hackers, and activists and was founded in Amsterdam in 2003. The collective is growing steadily and has opened informal offices worldwide, from Amman to Brighton to Bangalore. In 2012, the extended international team found a permanent home in Berlin. Since its inception, Tactical Tech has developed hundreds of interventions and resources in collaboration with local partners and employees around the world. These freely accessible resources promote media and digital skills and deal with topics such as misinformation and disinformation, technology and crises, and data and political influence.

Sponsored by:

Media partner:

With kind support from:

Ausstellung

Tracing the Geometry of Cyberwar

08.09. – 31.12.2023

Virtueller Ausstellungs- und Rechercheraum mit Arbeiten und Texten von Jesikka Aro, Sarah Buser, fantastic little splash, Judith Hanke, Olga Krykun, Svitlana Matviyenko, Tactical Tech, Susan Sontag und weiterem Recherchematerial von Center for Spatial Technologies.

In seinem aktuellen Projekt beschäftigt sich Prater Digital mit der Rolle, die das Internet sowie digitale Technologien im laufenden Angriffskrieg Russlands gegen die Ukraine spielen. In diesem Kontext werden neue Strategien der Kriegsführung etabliert, die zunehmend auf automatisierten und kybernetischen Mitteln basieren. Entgegen unserer Vorstellung findet der moderne Cyberwar nicht nur im virtuellen Raum statt, sondern entfaltet sich dort, wo digitale Kommunikation und militärische Aktionen verschmelzen.

Die Ausstellung „Tracing the Geometry of Cyberwar“ konzentriert sich vor allem auf die Bild- und Datenverbreitung in den kybernetischen Logiken des Internets. In diesem stark kommerzialisierten Online-Raum vermischen sich Bilder und Nachrichten aus dem Krieg mit Werbung, Memes und privaten Inhalten. Die Überwachung und Analyse der sozialen Netzwerke sowie die gezielte Verbreitung von Bildern und Desinformationen im Internet dienen dazu, Narrative über den Krieg und die Kriegsereignisse zu steuern und in der Öffentlichkeit durchsetzen. Gleichzeitig sind Bilder aber auch für die strategische Planung der Operationen und deren Nachforschung von großer Bedeutung.

Inspiriert von der Forschung der Wissenschaftlerin Svitlana Matviyenko bewegen sich die künstlerischen Positionen und diskursiven Texte in der Ausstellung entlang dreier Pfade (Vektoren) des Cyberkrieges − der sich gezielt gegen Menschen und Infrastruktur in der okkupierten Ukraine richtet, Unterstützerländer der Ukraine im Fokus hat sowie Russland selbst mit einschließt.

AUSSTELLUNGSZEITEN UND PROGRAMM

Die Ausstellung wird Mo.-Do. von 10:00-16:00 Uhr betreut, wenn sie Probleme oder Fragen haben, rufen Sie uns an: 030 90295-3813, oder melden Sie sich unter info@pratergalerie.de.

TEAM
Kuratorin: Tereza Havlíková
Konzept, Design und Programmierung Mozilla Hubs Galerieraum: Sarah Buser und Judith Hanke
Prater Galerie: Katharina von Hagenow, Lena Prents und Julie Rüter
Grafikdesign: Judith Weber
Lektorat: Carola Köhler
Tonaufnahme: studio brod
Sprecherin: Lucy Jones

Jessikka Aro

Jessikka Aro ist eine finnische Investigativjournalistin. Sie arbeitete für Yleisradio (Yle), die öffentlich-rechtliche Rundfunkanstalt Finnlands, bevor sie aufgrund massiver Drohungen zeitweise ihr Heimatland verlassen musste. 2016 wurde sie mit dem Bonnier-Preis für Journalismus ausgezeichnet. Im Jahr 2019 sollte sie den International Women of Courage Award des US-Außenministeriums erhalten, diese Auszeichnung wurde jedoch kurz vor der Zeremonie wieder zurückgezogen.

Center for Spatial Technologies

Das Center for Spatial Technologies ist eine Gruppe von Architekten, Forschern und Pädagogen, die hauptsächlich in Kiew (Ukraine) ansässig sind und Lösungen für räumliche Probleme entwickeln, indem sie wirtschaftliche, technologische und politische Infrastrukturen hacken, um die Stadt der Zukunft zu gestalten. Derzeit arbeitet das Team an Projekten zur Analyse der zivilen Zerstörungen, die durch die russische Invasion in der Ukraine verursacht wurden.

fantastic little splash

Das Kollektiv fantastic little splash wurde 2016 von der Journalistin/Künstlerin Lera Malchenko und dem Künstler/Regisseur Oleksandr Hants gegründet. Ihre Arbeiten kreisen um Utopien und Dystopien, kollektive Vorstellungskraft und ihre Projektionen und Unsicherheiten. Diese Themen verbinden sie mit Ansätzen aus der Bild- und Medienwissenschaft. Projekte von fantastic little splash wurden unter anderem auf der transmediale, post.MoMA, Plokta TV, Ars Electronica, Liste Art Fair Basel, Construction festival VI x CYNETART, KISFF und Docudays ausgestellt. Das Kollektiv nahm an der transmediale x Pro Helvetia Residency 2022 teil.

Olga Krykun

Olga Krykun studierte im Atelier für Supermedia und später im Atelier für Malerei an der Kunsthochschule UMPRUM in Prag. Während des Studiums absolvierte sie Praktika an der National Taiwan University of Arts, der University of Arts, Crafts and Design in Stockholm und dem T.E.I. in Athen. Ihre Arbeit „Remembering the Old World“ wurde für den StartPoint prize nominiert. Im Jahr 2022 wurde sie mit dem Jindřich-Chalupecký-Preis ausgezeichnet. Olga Krykun arbeitet hauptsächlich mit Video, Malerei und Objekten, die sie zu komplexen Installationen zusammensetzt. Indem sie fiktionale Geschichten mit heutigen kulturellen und sozialen Symbolen verbindet, kreiert Olga Krykun eine eigene zeitgenössische Mythologie. Dabei beschäftigt sie sich mit Themen wie Identität und Fragmentierung der Gesellschaft sowie mit inneren Spannungen und Ängsten.

Svitlana Matviyenko

Svitlana Matviyenko ist Assistenzprofessorin für kritische Medienanalyse an der School of Communication der kanadischen Simon Fraser University. Ihre Forschungs- und Lehrtätigkeit konzentriert sich auf Cyberwar, digitalen Militarismus, sowjetische und postsowjetische Technopolitik, nuklearen Kolonialismus sowie die Bewaffnung der Energieinfrastruktur während des Russland-Ukraine-Krieges. Sie ist Mitautorin von „Cyberwar and Revolution: Digital Subterfuge in Global Capitalism“, Gewinnerin des Buchpreises 2019 der Sektion Science Technology and Art in International Relations der International Studies Association und des Gertrude J. Robinson-Buchpreises der Canadian Communication Association 2020. Auf Deutsch erschien vor Kurzem ihr Text „Terrorumgebungen“ im Sammelband „Aus dem Nebel des Krieges. Die Gegenwart der Ukraine“ (Suhrkamp Verlag, Berlin 2023).

Susan Sontag

Susan Sontag (1933 – 2004) war Schriftstellerin, Kritikerin, Filmemacherin, Dramatikerin und Professorin. Sie schrieb zahlreiche Essaybücher, Romane und Theaterstücke. Einige ihrer berühmtesten Werke beschäftigen sich mit AIDS und Krankheit, Fotografie, Ästhetik und Moral. Während des Vietnamkriegs reiste sie 1968 nach Hanoi, während des Jugoslawienkriegs 1993 brach sie nach Bosnien auf und lebte dort drei Jahre im belagerten Sarajevo. Ihre Arbeit wurde durch zahlreiche Auszeichnungen und Stipendien gewürdigt, darunter Rockefeller Foundation Grant, Guggenheim Foundation Fellowship oder Jerusalem Prize for the Freedom of the Individual in Society.

Tactical Tech

Das Tactical Technology Collective, kurz Tactical Tech, besteht aus Künstler:innen, Hacker:innen und Aktivist:innen und wurde 2003 in Amsterdam gegründet. Stetig wachsend eröffnete das Kollektiv weltweit informelle Büros, von Amman über Brighton bis Bangalore. Im Jahr 2012 fand das erweiterte internationale Team ein festes Zuhause in Berlin. Seit seiner Gründung hat Tactical Tech in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partner:innen und Mitarbeiter:innen auf der ganzen Welt Hunderte von Interventionen und Ressourcen entwickelt. Diese frei zugänglichen Ressourcen fördern Medien- und Digitalkompetenzen und beschäftigen sich mit Themen wie Fehlinformation und Desinformation, Technologie und Krisen, Daten und politischer Einfluss.

Gefördert von:

Medienpartner:

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von: