Weathering With Me, 2021, Website
© Juliane Tübke

Weathering With Me, 2021, Website © Juliane Tübke

Weathering im Prater Digital

18.08.2021
5 pm (CEST)

Evening conversation with Juliane Tübke

In her works, Juliane Tübke explores the reciprocal relationship between human and non-human actors through photography, drawing and text. She focuses in particular on surfaces, which she understands as archives to be researched.
In her ongoing project Weathering, Tübke investigates the influence of weather/water on people and their environment. Since 2019, she has been interviewing people from the port city of Kochi (Kerala, India), where she began the project two years ago. The interviews form the basis of the Weathering With Me website, which she will now further develop in the exhibition spaces of Prater Digital.

RSVP via E-Mail

Juliane Tübke

studied art history in a global context at the Freie Universität Berlin before transferring to the Berlin University of the Arts. In 2018, she completed her studies with Prof. Monica Bonvicini there and was subsequently awarded the President’s Prize of the UdK Berlin. For her mostly site-specific projects, she has been invited to international residencies such as most recently the 2019 bangaloREsidency in India (Goethe-Institut). Tübke’s work has been shown in numerous exhibitions, including Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien (2020), Haus am Lützowplatz in Berlin (2019), and Pepper House/Kochi Biennale Foundation in India (2019). The artist lives and works in Berlin.

Weathering With Me, 2021, Website
© Juliane Tübke

Weathering With Me, 2021, Website © Juliane Tübke

Weathering im Prater Digital

18.08.2021
17:00 Uhr

Abendgesellschaft mit Juliane Tübke

In ihren Arbeiten untersucht Juliane Tübke das wechselseitige Verhältnis zwischen menschlichen und nichtmenschlichen Akteur*innen mittels Fotografie, Zeichnung und Text. Besondere Aufmerksamkeit schenkt sie dabei Oberflächen, die sie als Archive versteht, in denen es zu forschen gilt.

In ihrem Langzeitprojekt Weathering fragt Tübke nach dem Einfluss von Wetter/Wasser auf Menschen und ihre Umgebung. Seit 2019 interviewt sie hierfür Personen aus der Hafenstadt Kochi (Kerala, Indien), wo sie das Projekt vor zwei Jahren begonnen hat. Die Interviews bilden die Grundlage der Website Weathering With Me, die sie nun in den Ausstellungsräumen von Prater Digital weiterentwickeln wird.

RSVP via E-Mail

Juliane Tübke

studierte Kunstgeschichte im globalen Kontext an der Freien Universität Berlin, bevor sie an die Universität der Künste Berlin wechselte. 2018 schloss sie dort ihr Studium bei Prof. Monica Bonvicini ab und erhielt daraufhin den Preis des Präsidenten der UdK Berlin. Für ihre zumeist ortsspezifischen Projekte wurde sie wiederholt zu internationalen Aufenthaltsstipendien wie zuletzt der bangaloREsidency 2019 in Indien (Goethe-Institut) eingeladen. Tübkes Arbeiten waren in zahlreichen Ausstellungen zu sehen, u.a. im Kunstraum Kreuzberg/Bethanien (2020), im Haus am Lützowplatz in Berlin (2019) und im Pepper House/Kochi Biennale Foundation in Indien (2019). Die Künstlerin lebt und arbeitet in Berlin.